top of page

 Thanks for visiting! Just so you know, The Book Bop is an affiliate of several websites, and may collect a fee for your clicks, purchases, and subscriptions. Any item featured or reviewed may have been received free or discounted, but in no way affects my review. Thanks, and enjoy!  

Smoke Eaters

This book was a fast read (I listened to the audio, and it was about 9 hours total). I tore through it in 2 days, and could have easily listened to the whole thing in one sitting, had I not had to go to work. (ah, stupid job! Kidding, I love my job.) Imagine you're about to get everything you've ever wanted. You're sick and tired of dealing with the bull#$*t that goes on with the local politicians. You're about to get OUT. and then someone coerces you to transfer to a new department. And they don't let you read the contract before you sign it. Turns out you just signed your life away to fighting dangerous dragons for the rest of your life. Forget training, let's just throw you in and hope you don't die. This is Smoke Eaters. But filled with clever one-liners, engaging and humorous interior monologue, plot twists, androids, ghosts, and a touch of human sacrifice. All topped with a heavy dose of sarcasm and scales. The reason this book isn't ridiculous and silly is because it IS, but it doesn't take itself seriously. That allows me to enjoy it and laugh at the absurdity without thinking to myself "what the actual..." An added bonus, the narrator, T Ryder Smith, who did an amazing job. I wish there was another book in this series, because I'd be all over it! I hope there will be more. If not, I'll be keeping my eyes out for more by Sean Grigsby.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page