top of page

 Thanks for visiting! Just so you know, The Book Bop is an affiliate of several websites, and may collect a fee for your clicks, purchases, and subscriptions. Any item featured or reviewed may have been received free or discounted, but in no way affects my review. Thanks, and enjoy!  

Sky in the Deep

I cannot possibly express all the things I felt while reading this book. I just kept thinking to myself, "this is SO IMPORTANT." Why write essays about social issues when you can write novels that people can relate to and understand and feel in the depths of their heart? That's the point of a novel, right?

This book tacked one of the biggest issues we have in our society today; racism. Two clans of vikings who hate each other's guts and get together once every 5 years to try to slaughter each other somehow end up on the same page, living together in peace, united under a common enemy. Is that not the epitome of what we need right now? Thank you, Adrienne Young, for writing about important things.

But it wasn't just important; it was GOOD. The very first chapter was like BAM action, in your face. You have no idea what's happening, you're just carried along with the action, like a bustling around you that throws you around. From there, it progressed and evolved into a complex and well thought out world. Characters growing and building, realization and understanding came slowly.

I figured out pretty quickly who was going to fall for whom. Part of me didn't want it to happen because it seemed cliche. Looking back, I tried to find the exact moment in the book where I saw Fisk change his opinion on Elin. I think it was the Bear that changed everything, at least for him.

The love that the characters felt for each other--and the anger and hate, and heartbreak-- was real enough for me to get goosebumps and a lump in my throat throughout the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the listen, and was dreading when it was over.

I'm looking forward to more from Adrienne Young!

Content/recommendation: no graphic violence, sex, or swearing. A few kissing scenes. Ages 11+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page